Book Progress Report, Week 23, 24, and 25

18 May

It was a quiet couple of weeks on the book front. I finished up a first complete draft of my Media Refusal and Conspicuous Non-Consumption paper, and then got slammed with end of the semester grading. But now that summer is officially here I’m on a good work schedule (using the Pomodoro technique and dividing my day up into 5 tasks – book writing, reading new material, blogging and other writing, emails and other bureaucratic things, and future class prep, with book writing getting half of my total work time each day) and actually making progress on the manuscript. This week my book task has been to clean up the last few missing references in the Sexuality chapter. This has resulted in some additions to my reading list, so I’m thinking I can have this chapter totally put away (except for the introductory anecdote) by the end of next week at the latest.

My very rough plan for the summer is to spend late May/early June revising the Identity Politics chapter, late June/early July writing the Lifestylism chapter/conclusion, and the rest of the summer revising/writing the introduction and Methodology chapter, and researching/writing the anecdotes for each chapter introduction. My plan, which may be totally insane and unrealistic, is to have a complete draft by September so that I can get feedback on it before it goes to Continuum in December (note: accepting volunteers to read the manuscript in the fall).

Leave a Reply

